Sign In Forgot Password

Lost and Found in Poetry Translation

Upcoming Sessions

1. Thursday, July 16, 2020 24 Tammuz 5780

10:00 AM - 11:00 AMOnline Video Conference

2. Thursday, August 6, 2020 16 Av 5780

10:00 AM - 11:00 AMOnline Video Conference

3. Thursday, August 20, 2020 30 Av 5780

10:00 AM - 11:00 AMOnline Video Conference
Past Sessions
Thursday, July 2, 2020 10 Tammuz 5780 - 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM - Online Video Conference
Thursday, June 18, 2020 26 Sivan 5780 - 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM - Online Video Conference
Thursday, June 11, 2020 19 Sivan 5780 - 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM - Online Video Conference
Thursday, June 4, 2020 12 Sivan 5780 - 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM - Online Video Conference
Thursday, May 28, 2020 5 Sivan 5780 - 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM - Online Video Conference
Thursday, May 21, 2020 27 Iyar 5780 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online Video Conference
Thursday, May 14, 2020 20 Iyar 5780 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online Video Conference
Thursday, May 7, 2020 13 Iyar 5780 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online Video Conference

Link  Directory sent to Temple members and friends. Please check your most recent "What's Happening" email.

The art of translation meets its ultimate challenge in poetry translation, where not only the meaning, but the rhythm and the music of the words are important. 
We’ll start with Apolinnaire’s  famous poem “Sous le pont Mirabeau”, which has many different translations (see several examples here).

We’ll discuss the differences and our personal preferences. We’ll follow in a second session with Antonio Machado’s “Caminante, no hay caminos”.
We can afterwards open up to the participants’ favorite poems.

Share Print Save To My Calendar
Fri, July 3 2020 11 Tammuz 5780