Sign In Forgot Password

Poetry Zoom Soiree

Sunday, June 19, 2022 20 Sivan 5782

6:30 PM - 7:30 PMOnline
Past Sessions
Sunday, May 15, 2022 14 Iyar 5782 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online
Sunday, April 17, 2022 16 Nisan 5782 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online
Sunday, March 20, 2022 17 Adar II 5782 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online
Sunday, March 6, 2022 3 Adar II 5782 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online
Sunday, February 20, 2022 19 Adar I 5782 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online
Sunday, February 6, 2022 5 Adar I 5782 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online
Sunday, January 16, 2022 14 Sh'vat 5782 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online
Sunday, January 2, 2022 29 Tevet 5782 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online
Sunday, December 26, 2021 22 Tevet 5782 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online
Sunday, December 19, 2021 15 Tevet 5782 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online
Sunday, December 12, 2021 8 Tevet 5782 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online
Sunday, December 5, 2021 1 Tevet 5782 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online
Sunday, November 21, 2021 17 Kislev 5782 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online
Sunday, November 14, 2021 10 Kislev 5782 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online
Sunday, November 7, 2021 3 Kislev 5782 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online
Sunday, October 31, 2021 25 Cheshvan 5782 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online
Sunday, October 24, 2021 18 Cheshvan 5782 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online
Sunday, October 17, 2021 11 Cheshvan 5782 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online
Sunday, October 10, 2021 4 Cheshvan 5782 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online
Sunday, October 3, 2021 27 Tishrei 5782 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online
Sunday, September 26, 2021 20 Tishrei 5782 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online
Sunday, September 19, 2021 13 Tishrei 5782 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online
Sunday, September 12, 2021 6 Tishrei 5782 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online
Sunday, August 29, 2021 21 Elul 5781 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online
Sunday, August 22, 2021 14 Elul 5781 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online
Sunday, August 15, 2021 7 Elul 5781 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online
Sunday, August 8, 2021 30 Av 5781 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online
Sunday, August 1, 2021 23 Av 5781 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online
Sunday, July 25, 2021 16 Av 5781 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online
Sunday, July 18, 2021 9 Av 5781 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online
Sunday, July 11, 2021 2 Av 5781 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Online

Meeting link in directory sent to Temple members and friends. Please check your most recent "What's Happening" email.

The third Sunday of every month, relax and join some great discussions at our Zoom Poetry Soiree, hosted by Sara Epstein. We share and discuss either our own poems or our favorite poems by other known or unknown authors. Sara usually starts the round robin “open mic”. We discuss each poem, what touches us, what is obscure or confusing. Feel free to also just curl up with a glass of wine and listen!

Sara Epstein is a clinical psychologist and writer, with poems appearing or published in several journals and anthologies. She is working on a collection of poems for adults, and a book of poems for children learning to read by phonics.

 

Previous Sessions:

1.    French - Apollinaire "Sous le pont Mirabeau" (Philip Nikolayev translation)

2.    Spanish - Antonio Machado "Caminante, no hay camino" (Mary Berg translation)

3.    French - Baudelaire "Harmonie du soir" (Cyril Scott translation)

4.    German - Rilke "The book of hours" (Stephen Mitchell translation)

5.    Romanian - Eminescu "La steaua" (A.Z.Foreman translation)

6.    Russian - Anna Akhmatova "A simple way" (Andrey Kneller translation)

7.    Italian - Dante "The Divine Comedy" (John Ciardi translation)

8.    Italian - Leopardi "L'infinito" (Z.G. translation)

Marina Shalmon is a multilingual poetry amateur. Contact her at marinashalmon@shir-tikvah.org to find the date and language/poet of the next session

Share Print Save To My Calendar
Thu, May 26 2022 25 Iyar 5782