Sign In Forgot Password

Poetry Zoom Soiree

Upcoming Sessions

1. Sunday, April 25, 2021 13 Iyar 5781

6:30 PM - 7:30 PMZoom Video Conference.

2. Sunday, May 2, 2021 20 Iyar 5781

6:30 PM - 7:30 PMZoom Video Conference.

3. Sunday, May 9, 2021 27 Iyar 5781

6:30 PM - 7:30 PMZoom Video Conference.

4. Sunday, May 16, 2021 5 Sivan 5781

6:30 PM - 7:30 PMZoom Video Conference.

5. Sunday, May 23, 2021 12 Sivan 5781

6:30 PM - 7:30 PMZoom Video Conference.

6. Sunday, May 30, 2021 19 Sivan 5781

6:30 PM - 7:30 PMZoom Video Conference.

7. Sunday, June 6, 2021 26 Sivan 5781

6:30 PM - 7:30 PMZoom Video Conference.

8. Sunday, June 13, 2021 3 Tammuz 5781

6:30 PM - 7:30 PMZoom Video Conference.

9. Sunday, June 20, 2021 10 Tammuz 5781

6:30 PM - 7:30 PMZoom Video Conference.

10. Sunday, June 27, 2021 17 Tammuz 5781

6:30 PM - 7:30 PMZoom Video Conference.
Past Sessions
Sunday, April 18, 2021 6 Iyar 5781 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, April 11, 2021 29 Nisan 5781 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, April 4, 2021 22 Nisan 5781 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, March 21, 2021 8 Nisan 5781 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, March 14, 2021 1 Nisan 5781 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, March 7, 2021 23 Adar 5781 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, February 28, 2021 16 Adar 5781 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, February 21, 2021 9 Adar 5781 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, February 14, 2021 2 Adar 5781 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, February 7, 2021 25 Sh'vat 5781 - 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, January 31, 2021 18 Sh'vat 5781 - 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, January 24, 2021 11 Sh'vat 5781 - 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, January 17, 2021 4 Sh'vat 5781 - 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, January 10, 2021 26 Tevet 5781 - 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, January 3, 2021 19 Tevet 5781 - 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, December 27, 2020 12 Tevet 5781 - 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, December 20, 2020 5 Tevet 5781 - 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, December 13, 2020 27 Kislev 5781 - 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, December 6, 2020 20 Kislev 5781 - 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, November 29, 2020 13 Kislev 5781 - 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, November 22, 2020 6 Kislev 5781 - 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, November 15, 2020 28 Cheshvan 5781 - 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, November 8, 2020 21 Cheshvan 5781 - 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, November 1, 2020 14 Cheshvan 5781 - 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, October 25, 2020 7 Cheshvan 5781 - 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, October 18, 2020 30 Tishrei 5781 - 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, October 11, 2020 23 Tishrei 5781 - 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, October 4, 2020 16 Tishrei 5781 - 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, September 20, 2020 2 Tishrei 5781 - 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, September 13, 2020 24 Elul 5780 - 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, August 30, 2020 10 Elul 5780 - 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, August 16, 2020 26 Av 5780 - 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, August 9, 2020 19 Av 5780 - 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, August 2, 2020 12 Av 5780 - 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, July 26, 2020 5 Av 5780 - 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, July 19, 2020 27 Tammuz 5780 - 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, July 12, 2020 20 Tammuz 5780 - 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM - Zoom Video Conference.
Sunday, July 5, 2020 13 Tammuz 5780 - 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM - Zoom Video Conference.

Meeting link in directory sent to Temple members and friends. Please check your most recent "What's Happening" email.

Relax and join some great discussions at our Zoom Poetry Soiree, hosted by Sara Epstein. We share and discuss either our own poems or our favorite poems by other known or unknown authors. Sara usually starts the round robin “open mic”. We discuss each poem, what touches us, what is obscure or confusing. Feel free to also just curl up with a glass of wine and listen!

Sara Epstein is a clinical psychologist and writer, with poems appearing or published in several journals and anthologies. She is working on a collection of poems for adults, and a book of poems for children learning to read by phonics.

Once a month Marina Shalmon hosts “Lost & Found in Poetry Translation”. In each session she presents a foreign poem side by side with 5-6 different translations. We then discuss what works and what doesn't. In this way we get deeper into the heart of each poem than we ever could by reading only one variant. Examples of languages/poems we tackled:

 

Previous Sessions:

1.    French - Apollinaire "Sous le pont Mirabeau" (Philip Nikolayev translation)

2.    Spanish - Antonio Machado "Caminante, no hay camino" (Mary Berg translation)

3.    French - Baudelaire "Harmonie du soir" (Cyril Scott translation)

4.    German - Rilke "The book of hours" (Stephen Mitchell translation)

5.    Romanian - Eminescu "La steaua" (A.Z.Foreman translation)

6.    Russian - Anna Akhmatova "A simple way" (Andrey Kneller translation)

7.    Italian - Dante "The Divine Comedy" (John Ciardi translation)

8.    Italian - Leopardi "L'infinito" (Z.G. translation)

Marina Shalmon is a multilingual poetry amateur. Contact her at marinashalmon@shir-tikvah.org to find the date and language/poet of the next session

Share Print Save To My Calendar
Wed, April 21 2021 9 Iyar 5781